Why a good copywriting brief is vital

7 Mar

A good creative brief is without a doubt the single-most important thing to copywriting!

Trish Arnott − Spell-Bound

If you don’t have a good creative brief to work from and inspire you, you’ll struggle to satisfy your client and fail to deliver what they want and need.

For those who follow this blog, you’ll know that I’m now doing more copywriting than proofreading. It isn’t a hard transition; I love both proofreading and writing copy. However, my biggest help has been Belinda Weaver of Copywrite Matters.

Belinda gives me overflow copywriting work and writes an awesome creative brief. She spends time getting to know the client, the business and the business environment so we don’t have any surprises down the track.

Once I’ve read through one of her works of art, I’m fully prepared and can pretty much sit down and start writing. Of course, I do my own research to make sure I’m not going to parrot someone else’s words, but the brief is enough…

View original post 424 more words

6 Responses to “Why a good copywriting brief is vital”

  1. Trish Arnott March 7, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    Thank you!

  2. CreativeMediaCareers May 29, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    Your creative brief outline simplifies the whole process of creating your brief for a client.

    • capetowncopywriter May 29, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      Absolutely true!

    • Trish Arnott May 29, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks for your comment. I’ve just had the truth of the importance of a good creative brief reinforced after having to write a ‘press release’ for which I wasn’t given any actual news…or target audience…or parameters. The client told me that he didn’t have time to fill out the brief. “Just say we’re awesome, customer-focused and we live and breathe all things electrical.” OK. I’ve written a piece that is topical but I’m not convinced that it will get the attention the client is expecting.

      • capetowncopywriter May 30, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

        Trish, this is so true. How can you write good copy without knowing what you’re meant to deliver against!

Leave a Reply

